“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” —Oscar Wilde

In the grand scheme of things I did not do today very well. Really, I feel that I let it go to waste largely instead of taking advantage of my last day in New Zealand (for this trip at least) but oh well, it is what it is. At least I get a chance to do this day again back home in California.

I slept fine last night once I finally fell asleep. And I had a ridiculously slow and lazy morning. I lazed around, made breakfast with the fresh eggs, tossed out the eggs because without garlic salt or any seasoning other than sea salt and pepper they weren’t great, ate some more hummus, and played Tetris packing my bag back up properly for flying. I was pretty damn happy to have just barely enough hot water for a complete shower though. My little AirBnB was super cozy and waking up looking out the deck into the forested farmland was divine. I got more excited than I probably should be when I realized that getting back on a plane this evening meant I could finally finish Mamma Mia 2. I also realized I was taking a little bit too much time this morning as before I knew it the clock had already struck 10:40 am. Oops. I did one last sweep of my AirBnB and then whistled for Ava to come join me as I stretched my legs and walked the property before getting in the car for three hours.

Ava came bounding down the road and off we went, she ran ahead of me grabbing sticks begging me to throw them. Poor girl hasn’t quite figured out that the lightweight sticks don’t go very far, it reminded me of playing fetch with my friend Karen’s spaniel, Buddy. At one point Ava decided to carry a 5ish ft long piece of bamboo with us. I finally got one of her tennis balls and off we went, walking and playing fetch. My host had told me how to access a little waterfall on the property, over the hill and through the gate, and I decided to find it before I left. Ava and I climbed the hill, went through the next gate, and I was face-to-face with cows. Um, was I supposed to be here? I could hear the waterfall just a few hundred yards below. I was about to head down when I realized it wasn’t just cows, there was a bull staring at me. He had horns. And he did not seem happy that I was roaming through his territory. I’m sure it would have been fine but I did not want to risk pissing him off so I decided that I’d skip this waterfall and I went back to load the car and take off. Ava waited by my car as I threw my suitcase and pack in the trunk. I went back in the AirBnB for another final sweep and when I went to finally leave, she was no longer there. I was sad I wouldn’t get to say goodbye. I negotiated a nasty three point turn in the tiny awkward driveway and as I was about to turn out there she was, she was waiting at the top of the driveway to bid me adieu. I smiled and told her I’d miss her as I pulled away. I knew she’d forget about me as soon as the next set of guests checked in.

I had three hours in the car alone with my own thoughts driving back towards Auckland. As I thought back on my trip I was mesmerized by my own memories of how vastly different every day had been. I had some incredible highs and some exceptional lows. And I still have torn up pained knuckles. I also started thinking through other items I needed to add to my list for my next visit to this wonderful country; I’m targeting around Christmas/New Year’s next year to come back. I patted myself on the back for what a pro I’ve become at driving on the wrong side of the road. I still have a hard time figuring out which way to look when turning or crossing a street but after a few days I didn’t have to think too much about making sure I didn’t drift too far to my left. I thought about this blog; I’m really going to miss writing. My time every night sitting down to write down and relive my thoughts, feelings, and day’s adventures was really always one of my favorite parts of each day. At one point I simply let out a loud audible sigh. For some reason that sigh felt really good. I started singing along as Manic Monday came through my speakers; maybe I am getting my swagger back finally. But then I also caught myself yelling at song titles and lyrics; when “The Man I Want to Be” came on I surprised myself as I loudly yelled, “FUCK the man you want to be!” At least I was alone so there was no witness to my crazy. Also, am I the only one who thinks back to junior high dances every time Seal’s “Kiss from a Rose” comes on?

Later I found myself crying again, but this time light tears thinking about my father. Yesterday was his last day of radiation; I was sad I wasn’t there to support him and thought of the anxiety as we wait through the next few months of hormone therapy before we really know how effective his treatments have been.

It was a beautiful drive, through both lush farmlands and forest. I wished I’d had time to stop but there will be a next time. I saw a billboard that distracted me from being caught up in my on head. It was an advertisement for “Fruit World” and in a big “Fruit World” labeled crate was ears of corn; with a picture of a boy eating an ear of corn. Have I missed something? Has corn become a fruit?

Traffic sucked as I neared Auckland. It was a crawl. By the time I made it to the Auckland Museum it was around 2:15 pm and I was targeting getting to the airport around 5:00 pm so I had plenty of time to change, gas up the rental car, and get checked in without having to rush in the slightest. Judging traffic that meant I had two hours. I had hoped to go to the Auckland Art Museum as well but I knew that too would have to wait until next time. I was starving so my first stop was the museum cafe for a so-so lunch. It was better than nothing. The museum mainly focused on the Maori culture, the world wars, and natural history. As you can imagine, my main interest was the natural history. I’d experienced the Maori culture and would rather learn of it firsthand and I was already melancholy enough, I didn’t need to focus on the wars. They did have a special butterfly exhibit and I expected it to include some real live butterflies, but nope, just some poor dead and pinned soldiers. I have to be honest, I wasn’t too interested in much of the museum. Even the natural history part didn’t keep me thrilled as it was globally focused and not specially New Zealand focused. I’d rather go to a Smithsonian.

The museum did, however, have a volcano exhibit! So I’m betting you can guess where I spent most of my time. Having just come off of White Island yesterday and after having done the Tongariro Crossing and fallen in love with Mt. Ngauruhoe back in February it made it even better to have the first-hand experience and was super cool to see them featured in the museum. I read basically every word on every display. They had a picture of Mt. Ngauruhoe erupting and it made me giddy. Yes, I know, I’m weird but I had a picture from my trek at almost the exact same spot. I also have never considered before that granite is made from magma; it made me appreciate my countertops at home even more. They had a display on the Buried Village near Rotorua, I once again had not made it there, definitely on my list for next time. I love a good museum gift shop but even their’s didn’t excite me much. As I left the museum I thought about how I hadn’t bought anything to bring home this trip – last time all I brought home was tea, chocolate, and a yoga mat – and then I remembered the hundreds of dollars of artwork rolled up in a tube waiting in my car. Oh yeah, there was that! I got excited for my art all over again. And I just realized that with Black Friday sales hopefully I can get some good deals on framing this weekend! I had really wanted to get a hand carved greenstone necklace this trip but never found a place that felt authentic enough; another note for next time.

Traffic was terrible getting back down to the airport; I really do detest Auckland proper. As I pulled into the Hertz return lot to drop off my rental car I had major deja vu of my first day here in February and returning back to that lot within a couple hours of landing in the rental car I had just crashed. At that moment in February every part of me wanted to get back on a plane and leave. Sticking it out was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. And no, we don’t need to compare the number of good versus the number of bad decisions I’ve made in my life. Airport security was a breeze and when I saw that the duty free shop had NARS products I swooped in as I was out of blush at home so I could do some practical shopping on my way out! I also grabbed a few Whittakers chocolate bars; cause why not. Having gotten in a winning bid and been upgraded to first class, or business class as they call it these days, I had access to the Air New Zealand lounge. I grabbed a glass of champagne and some cheese and, well, started writing this blog. I didn’t have a ton of time before I had to get to my gate but enough to drink a glass of bubbly and get a start. As I confirmed my gate upon leaving the lounge the attendant let me know that Gate 17 was about a 20 minute walk. Fuck. I thought I had timed this perfectly. I hauled butt and made it in 6 minutes. For flights to the U.S. there is an additional level of screening when you get to the gate; security interviews you, asks about your trip, asks what you do for a living, inquires about your life, it takes a couple minutes. My security agent actually looked at me first thing and said, “You seem tired.” Thanks dude.

And now, here I am, in the air headed back to California. I’ll have about three hours at LAX to get through customs (thank you global entry) and then on a Southwest flight home from there. My flight just took off over the Coromandel Peninsula. In February, my second to last day, I had visited part of that area, the Coromandel is also on my list for next time as there was still more there to experience. I just got up to go wash my hands on the plane. When I boarded I’m not sure what I did but the cut on my thumb from last night tore open again and started bleeding. They are getting ready to serve dinner and as I exited the bathroom the meal attendant didn’t know I was behind him, “Oh shit!” I heard him murmur. He saw me and added, “These bumps are quite scary.” I am pretty amused that an attendant is more concerned about the turbulence than I am. Though I suppose it could be messing with his meal service. I’ve already decided that I will make sure I get the highest class upgrade for all my long haul international travels from here on. I haven’t even made my little area into the lay flat bed yet but this is amazing. I am so comfortable. And the champagne is so good. There is a couple across from me. The man begged another passenger to change seats with him so he could sit near his wife. As we are getting ready to dine the husband moved to sit at her table, yes, the business class seats are situated so that the tray table is large enough for a guest to sit with you. They are lovey dovey and instead of seeing them making me bitter and angry it makes me feel hopeful, and happy for them. This is a good sign that my head space is getting back to the right place, even if I did scream at songs daring to come across my speakers earlier.

I had two goals for this trip. To start writing a book and to think through some parts of how I want my future to look. I accomplished neither of them. In fact, I made zero progress on either. I tried hard on the latter but, quite frankly, the distractions of the last few days was enough to side track me, which is ok, that happens. Maybe I should start by focusing on the writing…

Oh man – as I’m waiting for my next dinner course I started re-reading through all the supportive, loving, friend text messages I received just today. Each one of the few of you I texted with today, you people know how to make a girl feel special. And goddamnit, now I’m trying not to tear up again on the airplane over how damn happy I really am to have you folks in my life. If you’ve texted with or reached out to me on your own over the last few days you know who you are. I’m going to blame the exhaustion on how easily I’m tearing up today.

Ok, so, yah, I just stopped to finish my dinner and watch the last half hour of Mamma Mia 2. I caught myself tearing up at the damn movie even. At this point, I’m going to blame the exhaustion plus the four glasses of champagne (and one glass of Sauvignon blanc) I’ve had since getting through airport security. I also got a tad emotional just now realizing I wouldn’t have the excited airport pick-up I was expecting when I started this trip. Oh well, life goes on! And thank god for Uber.

I’m excited to get home and cuddle my pups and kitties. I know they were well taken care of while I was away and that makes it so much easier. But what’s next? Let’s back that question up, let’s just look at it from the adventure perspective, I can’t handle looking at the life perspective right now. Months ago I had the grand idea to run away to Dubai for New Years but never moved on that idea after having booked Iceland and New Zealand so close together. But now it has me thinking; do I run away for New Years? Surely there are some great weekend sales going on when I return. Or maybe Cuba? Anyone up for at trip to Cuba? That’s one place I don’t want to go alone. I guess I’ll start by seeing if I can get some sleep on this plane and make it home. I didn’t think I’d had a follow-up post to this one but now I’m not so sure…

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑